Sanctuary Advisory Council Members

Florida Keys National Marine Sanctuary Advisory Council members represent boating, conservation and environment, diving, education and outreach, South Florida ecosystem restoration, fishing (commercial and recreational), elected county government, submerged cultural resources, research and monitoring, tourism and the community at large.

The Council is one way for members of the community to get involved with the sanctuary. Vacancies on the council are periodically available for which you can apply. Or, if you want to voice your opinion or ask questions about the sanctuary, contact the current council members who represent your area of interest, as one of the roles of the members is to serve as a liaison between the sanctuary and members of the community.

The council meets six times a year and the public is invited to attend and provide comment during these meetings.

A directory of former Sanctuary Advisory Council members can be found here. Contact information for current Sanctuary Advisory Council Members is listed below.

 

Officers

Chair: Ken Nedimyer
Term: 10/11 – 10/14
The Coral Restoration Foundation, Inc.
212 Silver Palm Avenue
Tavernier, FL 33070
305-852-4955
sealifefl@bellsouth.net

Vice-Chair: Chris Bergh
Term: 10/12 – 10/15
The Nature Conservancy
Florida Keys Office
127 Industrial Road, Suite D
Big Pine Key, FL 33043
305-872-7071
cbergh@tnc.org

 

Non-governmental Members

  • Boating Industry

    +

    Bruce Popham
    Term: 12/13 – 10/16
    Marathon Boatyard
    2059 Overseas Hwy.
    Marathon, FL 33050
    305-743-6341
    bruce@marathonboatyard.com

     

    Alternate: Ken Reda
    Term: 12/13 – 10/16
    MarineMax Yacht Sales & Brokerage
    Ocean Reef Office
    2 Fishing Village Drive
    Key Largo, FL  33037
    305-367-3969
    Ken.Reda@marinemax.com

     

  • Citizen at Large

    +

    Citizen at Large – Lower Keys:
    David Hawtof
    Term: 10/11 – 10/14
    Retired
    1037 United Street
    Key West, Fl 33040
    305-292-7818
    hawtofd@gmail.com

     

    Alternate: Julie Ann Floyd
    Term: 10/12 – 10/14
    Key West Seaplanes
    P.O. Box 5294
    Key West, FL 33045
    305-587-0557 (cell)
    julie@keywestseaplanes.com

     

    Citizen at Large – Middle Keys:
    David Vanden Bosch
    Term 6/14 – 10/17
    Captain Hook's Marina and Dive Center
    11833 Overseas Hwy
    Marathon, FL 33050
    305-587-0249
     (cell)

     

    Alternate: George Garrett
    Term: 10/12 – 10/15
    348 Guava Avenue
    Marathon, FL 33050
    305-395-1850 (cell)
    garrettgeo@hotmail.com

     

    Citizen at Large – Upper Keys:

    David Makepeace
    Term: 10/10 – 10/13
    Coral Shores High School
    83311 Old Highway
    Islamorada, FL 33036
    305-393-3218
    bean@terranova.net

     

    Alternate: Suzy Roebling
    Term: 12/13 – 10/16
    P.O. Box 1167
    Tavernier, FL 33070
    305-393-2136 (cell)
    Mullet_mansion@yahoo.com

     

  • Conservation and Environment

    +

    Ken Nedimyer
    Term: 10/11 – 10/14
    The Coral Restoration Foundation, Inc.
    212 Silver Palm Avenue
    Tavernier, FL 33070
    305-852-4955
    sealifefl@bellsouth.net

     

    Alternate: Jessica Pulfer
    Term: 10/11 – 10/14
    Marine Resources Development Foundation
    51 Shoreland Dr.
    Key Largo, FL 33037
    305-451-1139
    jessica.pulfer@marinelab.org

     

    Chris Bergh
    Term: 10/12 – 10/15
    The Nature Conservancy
    Florida Keys Office
    127 Industrial Road, Suite D
    Big Pine Key, FL 33043
    305-872-7071
    cbergh@tnc.org

     

    Alternate:Jim Scholl
    Term: 10/12 - 10/15
    P.O. Box 420914
    Summerland Key, FL 33042
    305-304-4379
    jsswats1@aol.com

     

  • Diving

    +

    Diving – Lower Keys:
    Don Kincaid
    Term: 10/11 – 10/14
    Self employed
    P.O. Box 6126
    Key West, FL 33040
    305-407-0963
    donkincaid@earthlink.net

     

    Alternate: Bob Smith
    Term: 10/11 – 10/14
    Advanced Underwater Education, Inc.
    1213 17th St.
    Key West, FL 33040
    305-587-4218
    uwsmitty@aol.com

     

    Diving – Upper Keys:
    Rob Mitchell
    Term: 12/13 – 10/16
    Keys Diver
    99696 Overseas Hwy., #1
    Key Largo, FL 33037
    305-451-1177
    CaptainRob@keysdiver.com

     

    Alternate: Elena Rodriguez
    Term: 8/14 – 10/16
    275 Seminole Blvd.
    Tavernier, FL 33070
    904-861-7472 (cell)
    elena@scubaboard.com

     

  • Education and Outreach

    +

    Martin Moe
    Term: 10/12 – 10/15
    Green Turtle Publications
    222 Gulfview Drive
    Islamorada, FL 33036
    305-517-9085
    martin_moe@yahoo.com

     

    Alternate: Alex Brylske
    Term: 10/12 – 10/15
    Florida Keys Community College
    5901 College Rd.
    Key West, FL 33040
    305-809-3148
    alex.brylske@fkcc.edu

     

  • Fishing

    +

    Fishing – Charter Fishing Flats Guide:
    Richard Grathwohl
    Term: 10/11 – 10/14
    Marathon Guides Association
    8045 Shark Drive
    Marathon, FL 33050-2853
    305-743-5122
    feverfish@bellsouth.net

     

    Alternate: Ted Lund
    Term: 10/11 – 10/14
    Freelancer Charters
    5675 5th Ave., Apt. A
    Key West, FL  33040
    305-213-5369
    tlund@me.com

     

    Fishing – Charter Sports Fishing:
    Steven Leopold
    Term: 12/13 – 10/16
    Self employed
    272 South Coconut Palm Blvd.
    Tavernier, FL 33070
    305-393-9955 (cell)
    Leofish4@aol.com

     

    Alternate:Rob Harris
    Term: 12/13 – 10/16
    Self employed
    3405 16th Terrace
    Key West, FL 33040
    305-587-6718 (cell)
    Rw_harris@msn.com

     

    Fishing – Commercial – Marine/Tropical:
    Ben Daughtry
    Term: 10/11 – 10/14
    Dynasty Marine Associates, Inc.
    10602 7th Ave. Gulf
    Marathon, FL  33050
    305-743-7666 x206
    ben@dynastymarine.net

     

    Alternate: Linda Kruszka
    Term: 4/13 – 10/16
    Seaclusive Sealife Inc.
    1821 Bittersweet Ave
    Big Pine Key, FL 33043
    305-289-5862 
    lindakruszka@comcast.net

     

    Fishing – Commercial – Shell/Scale:
    Jeff Cramer
    Term: 10/12 – 10/15
    Florida Keys Commercial Fishermen's Association
    34 Seaview Ave
    Conch Key, FL 33050
    305-393-4049
    Street124@aol.com

     

    Alternate: Justin Bruland
    Term: 10/12 – 10/15
    Florida Keys Commercial Fishermen’s Association
    305-481-4081 (cell)
    jlb06z@my.fsu.edu

     

    Fishing – Recreational:
    Jack Curlett
    Term: 12/13 – 10/16
    Card Sound Yachts, Inc.
    5 Caloosa Road
    Key Largo, FL 33037
    305-367-2727
    jackcurlett@bellsouth.net

     

    Alternate: Bruce Frerer
    Term: 12/13 – 10/16
    Retired
    20728 6th Ave. West
    Cudjoe Key, FL 33042
    305-923-5444
    bfrerer@mote.org

     

  • Research and Monitoring

    +

    David Vaughan
    Term: 12/13 – 10/16
    Mote Marine Laboratory
    24244 Overseas Highway
    Summerland Key, FL 33042
    305-745-2729 x202
    DVaughan@Mote.org

     

    Alternate: Shelly Krueger
    Term: 12/13 – 10/16
    Florida Sea Grant
    University of Florida IFAS Extension, Monroe County
    1100 Simonton Street, Suite 2-260
    Key West, FL 33040
    305-292-4502
    ShellyKrueger@UFL.edu

     

  • South Florida Ecosystem Restoration

    +

    Jerry Lorenz
    Term: 10/11 – 10/14
    Audubon of Florida
    Tavernier Science Center
    115 Indian Mound Trail
    Tavernier, FL 33070
    305-852-5092
    jlorenz@audubon.org

     

    Alternate: Peter Frezza
    Term: 10/12 – 10/14
    Tavernier Science Center
    115 Indian Mound Trail
    Tavernier, FL 33070
    305-852-5318
    pfrezza@audubon.org

     

  • Submerged Cultural Resources

    +

    Corey Malcom
    Term: 10/12 – 10/15
    Mel Fisher Maritime Heritage Society
    200 Greene St.
    Key West, FL 33040
    305-294-2633 x22
    cmalcom@melfisher.org

     

    Alternate:Diane Silvia
    Term: 10/12 – 10/15
    Historic Florida Keys Foundation
    510 Greene St.
    Key West, FL 33040
    305-304-1453 (cell)
    hfkf@bellsouth.net

     

  • Tourism

    +

    Tourism – Lower Keys:
    Primary: Clinton Barras
    Term: 12/13 – 10/16
    FloridaKeys.com
    701 Simonton St.
    Key West, FL 33040
    305-849-9224 (cell)
    clinton@floridakeys.com

     

    Alternate: Joe Weatherby
    Term: 12/13 – 10/16
    REEFMAKERS
    2627 Staples Ave., B
    Key West, FL 33040
    305-797-7077
    joewdiver@gmail.com

     

    Tourism – Upper Keys:
    Andy Newman
    Term: 10/12 – 10/15
    NewmanPR
    2140 South Dixie Highway, Suite 203
    Miami, FL 33133
    305-461-3300
    andy@newmanpr.com

     

    Alternate: Eric Handte
    Term: 10/12 – 10/15
    Bay Harbor Lodge and Coconut Bay Resort
    97702 Overseas Highway
    Key Largo, FL 33037
    305-852-5695
    eric@bayharborkeylargo.com

 

 

Governmental Members

  • Local Government

    +

    Monroe County:
    Elected County Official: George R. Neugent
    Term: 10/12 – 10/15
    Monroe County Board of County Commissioners
    25 Ships Way
    Big Pine Key, FL 33043
    305-872-1678
    Neugent-George@monroecounty-fl.gov

     

    Alternate: Heather Carruthers
    Term: 10/12 – 10/15
    Monroe County Board of County Commissioners
    530 Whitehead St., Suite 102
    Key West, FL 33040
    305-292-3430
    carruthers-heather@monroecounty-fl.gov

     

  • State Government

    +

    Florida Department of Environmental Protection (non-voting):
    Joanna Walczak
    Coral Reef Conservation Program
    1277 NE 79th Street
    Miami, FL 33138
    305-795-1208
    joanna.walczak@dep.state.fl.us

     

    Alternate:
    Kevin Claridge
    Florida Department of Environmental Protection
    Office of Coastal and Aquatic Managed Areas
    Douglas Building
    3900 Commonwealth Blvd., MS 235
    Tallahassee, FL 32399-3000
    850-245-2094
    kevin.claridge@dep.state.fl.us

     

    Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission, Division of Law Enforcement (non-voting):
    Major Alfredo Escanio
    3200 Northeast 151 St.
    North Miami, FL 33181
    305-956-2500 x 101
    alfredo.escanio@MyFWC.com

     

    Alternate:
    Capt. Pat Langley
    2796 Overseas Hwy., Suite 100
    Marathon, FL 33050
    305-289-2320 x 103
    pat.langley@MyFWC.com

     

    Capt. David Dipre
    2796 Overseas Hwy., Suite 100
    Marathon, FL 33050
    305-289-2320 x 107
    david.dipre@MyFWC.com

     

    Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission, Fish and Wildlife Research Institute (non-voting):
    John Hunt
    2796 Overseas Highway, Suite 119
    Marathon, FL 33050
    305-289-2330
    John.Hunt@MyFWC.com

     

  • Federal Government

    +

    NOAA Fisheries Service (non-voting):
    Heather Blough
    263 13th Ave. South
    St. Petersburg, FL 33703
    727-551-5795
    Heather.Blough@noaa.gov

     

    NOAA Office of General Counsel, Enforcement Section (Southeast) (non-voting):
    Karen Raine
    263 13th Ave. South, Suite 177
    St. Petersburg, FL 33703
    727-824-5360
    Karen.Raine@noaa.gov

     

    NOAA Office of Law Enforcement (non-voting):
    Kenneth Blackburn
    33 East Quay Rd.
    Key West, FL 33040
    305-809-4700 x223
    Ken.Blackburn@noaa.gov

     

    Alternate: John O'Malley
    33 East Quay Rd.
    Key West, FL 33040
    305-809-4700 x223
    John.Omalley@noaa.gov

     

    National Park Service (non-voting):
    Tracy Ziegler
    33 East Quay Rd.
    Key West, FL 33040
    305-809-4700 x249
    Tracy_Ziegler@nps.gov

     

    Alternate: Tylan Dean
    Everglades and Dry Tortugas National Parks
    South Florida Natural Resources Center
    950 N. Krome Ave.
    Homestead, FL 33030-4443
    305-224-4239
    Tylan_Dean@nps.gov

     

    U.S. Coast Guard (non-voting):
    LCDR Michael Capelli
    100 Trumbo Point Road
    Key West, FL 33040
    305-292-8808
    Michael.J.Capelli@uscg.mil

     

    Alternate: Phil Goodman
    23088 Bluegill Lane
    Cudjoe Key, FL 33042
    305-745-1544
    goodmanpl@aol.com

     

    U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (non-voting):
    Patricia Bradley
    33 East Quay Rd.
    Key West, FL 33040
    305-809-4700 x238
    Bradley.Patricia@epa.gov

     

    Alternate: Steven Blackburn
    FKNMS Water Quallity Protection Program Coordinator
    EPA Region 4, Wetlands, Coastal and Ocean Branch
    61 Forsyth St., S.W.
    Atlanta, GA 30303-3104
    (404) 562-9397; fax: (404) 562-9224
    Blackburn.Steven@epa.gov

     

    U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (non-voting):
    Nancy Finley
    179 Key Deer Blvd.
    Big Pine Key, FL 33043
    305-872-2239
    Nancy_Finley@fws.gov

     

    U.S. Navy (non-voting):
    Edward Barham
    Naval Air Station, Key West
    P.O. Box 9007
    Key West, FL 33040
    305-293-2911
    edward.barham@navy.mil

     

 

 

  • NOAA Office of National Marine Sanctuaries Ex-Officio Staff (non-voting)

    +

    Sean Morton
    Sanctuary Superintendent
    Florida Keys National Marine Sanctuary
    33 East Quay Rd.
    Key West, FL 33040
    305-809-4700 x233
    Sean.Morton@noaa.gov

     

    Billy Causey
    Regional Director
    Southeast Atlantic, Gulf of Mexico and Caribbean Region
    Office of National Marine Sanctuaries
    33 East Quay Road
    Key West, FL 33040
    305-809-4700 x234
    Billy.Causey@noaa.gov

     

    Beth Dieveney
    Deputy Superintendent for Science and Policy
    Florida Keys National Marine Sanctuary
    33 East Quay Rd.
    Key West, FL 33040
    305-809-4700 x228
    Beth.Dieveney@noaa.gov