NOAA's Florida Keys National Marine Sanctuary Appoints Advisory Council Members

Oct. 19, 2010

Media Contact:

Karrie Carnes
305-809-4700 x236



Sanctuary Advisory Council

NOAA’s Florida National Marine Sanctuary announced ten primary members and seven alternate members to serve new terms on its sanctuary advisory council. The appointees bring a valuable range of experience to the council, which provides sanctuary staff with input and recommendations on sanctuary programs and management.

“I am pleased to welcome several new members to the sanctuary advisory council as well as the renewal of some of our veteran advisors,” said Sean Morton, sanctuary superintendent. “The council plays a critical role in ensuring that varied and diverse communities have a voice in helping NOAA manage its marine protected areas.”

The newly appointed advisory council members, who will begin their terms at the October 19 meeting of the sanctuary advisory council, are: Bruce Popham, Boating Industry primary member; David Makepeace, Citizen at Large – Upper Keys primary member; Rob Mitchell, Diving – Upper Keys primary member; Scott Fowler, Diving – Upper Keys alternate; Steven Leopold, Fishing – Charter Sports Fishing primary member; Brad Simonds, Fishing – Charter Sports Fishing alternate; Ken Nedimyer, Fishing – Commercial – Marine/Tropical primary member; Ben Daughtry, Fishing – Commercial – Marine/Tropical alternate; Bill Kelly , Fishing – Commercial – Shell/Scale alternate; Jack Curlett, Fishing – Recreational primary member; Bruce Frerer, Fishing – Recreational alternate; David Vaughan, Research and Monitoring primary member; Art Itkin, Research and Monitoring alternate; Jerry Lorenz, South Florida Ecosystem Restoration primary member; Bob Holston, Tourism – Lower Keys primary member; Clinton Barras, Tourism – Lower Keys alternate; and Debra Illes, Tourism – Upper Keys primary member.

Authorized in 1990 and established in 1992, the Florida Keys National Marine Sanctuary advisory council provides advice and recommendations on managing and protecting the sanctuary. The council has 20 representatives and alternates from community constituent groups, and 10 government agencies have non-voting representatives on the council. Serving in a voluntary capacity, the council members represent a variety of local user groups, as well as the general public.

The sanctuary was established in 1990 in recognition of the special resources found in and around the waters of the Florida Keys. NOAA and the State of Florida jointly developed a comprehensive plan to protect and manage sanctuary resources.
NOAA’s mission is to understand and predict changes in the Earth's environment, from the depths of the ocean to the surface of the sun, and to conserve and manage our coastal and marine resources. Visit us at or on Facebook at